Aug 16, 2012

Review: Glitch, by Heather Anastasiu

Glitch (Glitch #1)by Amazon | Book Depository | GoodreadsIn the Community, there is no more pain or war. Implanted computer chips have wiped humanity clean of destructive emotions, and thoughts are replaced by a feed from the Link network.
When Zoe starts to malfunction (or “glitch”), she suddenly begins having her own thoughts, feelings, and identity. Any anomalies must be immediately reported and repaired, but Zoe has a secret so dark it will mean certain deactivation if she is caught: her glitches have given her uncontrollable telekinetic powers.
As Zoe struggles to control her abilities and stay hidden, she meets other glitchers including Max, who can disguise his appearance, and Adrien, who has visions of the future. Both boys introduce Zoe to feelings that are entirely new. Together, this growing band of glitchers must find a way to free themselves from the controlling hands of the Community before they’re caught and deactivated, or worse.
In this action-packed debut, Glitch begins an exciting new young adult trilogy.
Source:  St. Martin's Griffin
Rating: didn't like it it was ok liked it really liked it (my current rating) it was amazing


Glitch is a dystopian novel that touched on subjects I had seen in other novels but Heather Anastasiu gave it her own touch, and it was a good book! Great for fans of Matched and Divergent, both of which I was reminded of while reading the book.

Interesting plot: 1/2
The story was very creative, and things like the Resistance was something that I hoped would develop a lot further in this book, but unfortunately it seems like I need to wait for the next book. The whole idea is pretty incredible, and the world Anastasiu developed was completely out of the ordinary in books I've read before.

Characters: 1/2
I'm only giving this one point because my favorite character was definitely Adrian. He was caring, brave, thoughts things through, etc. Although Zoe is a strong character, she's just missing something more... I guess a little more character or soul, but I completely understand Heather's reason to do this, considering Zoe is character who's kind of struggling to attach herself to her new thoughts and personality.
But there was one character I could not stand at all; he was selfish, rude, hateful.. and that was Max. He started as someone I thought was a sweet character, but he only cared about himself, and his attitude towards everyone surrounding him left me thinking he was foolish, and selfish.

Pace: 2/2
This book never got slow, and though I thought some parts were incredibly fast and I didn't know what was happening, they were few and the fast-paced, action-packed chapters filled the rest of the pages.

Writing style: 2/2
Heather Anastasiu writes amazingly, and for the dystopian world she created, she managed to write in a way you understood the world the characters lived in, including her vocabulary,

Recommend it?: 2/2


Post a Comment

Total site visits